#yokoono – new lp from PINK SECTION

An early punk cover of Yoko’s MIDSUMMER NEW YORK GETS A NEW RELEASE !

PINK SECTION Self Titled (2015 Compilation)

2015 Superior Viaduct Records SV034

Named after San Francisco Chronicle’s pink-hued arts and entertainment guide, PINK SECTION coalesced at SF Art Institute and performed their first show at the legendary Deaf Club on Valentine’s Day, 1979. These self-taught musicians existed on the fringe (even in the local underground scene), producing an unusual brand of off-kilter post-punk against a backdrop of Dadaist aesthetics.

The group itself was strangely symmetrical: singer Judy Gittelsohn and drummer Carol Detweiler (both members of INFLATABLE BOY CLAMS), singer / guitarist Matt Heckert (Survival Research Laboratories), and bassist Stephen Wymore.

While the hallucinatory layers of male / female vocals on “Shopping” conjure images of deranged domesticity and ’50s Americana gone haywire, the fractured riffs of “Midsummer New York” deconstruct Yoko Ono’s original even further, stripping bare PINK SECTION’s fondness for angular rhythms and out-of-control oscillations.

This first-time retrospective LP collects the band’s rare 1979 single, the self-titled EP, unreleased demos, and live material. Recommended for fans of SUBURBAN LAWNS, UNITS, and DEVO.

Label: Superior Viaduct SV034
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released : 17 Feb 2015


A1 Tour Of China
A2 Shopping
A3 Wine World
A4 Midsummer New York
A5 Flat Dog
A6 Part Time
B1 Francine’s List
B2 Safety Instruction
B3 Jane Blank
B4 Cars Don’t Wait For Love
B5 Lonely Fashionette
B6 Been In The Basement 30 Years

Companies etc

Phonographic Copyright (p) Pink Section
Copyright (c) Pink Section
Licensed To Superior Viaduct
Recorded At Peter Miller Studios
Recorded At 3444 16th Street
Recorded At Triangle Recording
Recorded At Mabuhay Gardens
Recorded At Deaf Club


Backing Vocals Carlo Scandiuzzi* (tracks: A5), Homer Spence (tracks: A5) Bass, Guitar, Synth, Vocals Stephen Wymore
Drums, Vocals Carol Detweiler
Engineer Bill Stuber (tracks: A3 to B1), Jack Weaver (tracks: A3 to B1), Jim Keylor (tracks: B6) Photography By George Westcott, Matt Heckert
Producer Homer Spence (tracks: A3 to B1), Pink Section (tracks: A3 to B1), Tom Tadlock (tracks: A1, A2) Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Alto Saxophone Matt Heckert
Vocals, Synth Judy Gittelsohn
Written-By Pink Section (tracks: A1 to A3, A5 to B6), Yoko Ono (tracks: A4)


Includes printed inner sleeve and download card. Sticker on shrinkwrap includes the text: “First-time retrospective LP collects their rare 1979 single, self-titled EP, unreleased demos, and live material.”

Tracks A1, A2 recorded at Peter Miller Studio, San Francisco, except vocals and xylophone at 3444 16th Street. Originally released on the Tour Of China / Shopping single, 1979.
Tracks A3 to B1 recorded at Triangle Studio, Seattle. Originally released on the Pink Section EP, 1980.
Tracks B2 to B4 recorded at Peter Miller Studio, San Francisco. Unreleased demos from 1979. Track B5 recorded live, July 12th, 1979, at Mabuhay Gardens, San Francisco. Track B6 recorded live, March 11th, 1979, at Deaf Club, San Francisco.

Photos by Matt Heckert except live shots by George Westcott.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

Barcode: 857176003348

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s